Disturb me

I wrote this 16 years ago, but it’s still as much my prayer today as it was then.

 

Disturb me again, my God;

disquiet my fickle heart.

Discomfit me with Your rod

and tear my castles apart.

 

For You are my portion, Lord;

security is in You.

The chattels my soul would hoard

will only obscure my view.

 

Invisible things I see:

they are firmer to my touch

than wraiths of solidity

in a world composed of such.

 

I know that my destiny

is to love You as a Friend.

I know I was born to be

in a kingdom without an end.

 

Disturb me again, I ask,

for fear I should settle down,

still clutching a worthless mask

while throwing away a crown.

Leave a Reply

