India blog – day 12

It’s about time I updated everyone again. The past week I have been mostly out of it, either sleeping or drinking or – the rest you don’t want to know about and I’m trying to forget.

However, I woke up this morning with no body pain or headache for the first time since last Friday, and I have been able to keep down two bananas and a little bread and butter. So progress is being made. And yes, Martin, I’ve even swallowed the papaya leaf juice!

When I first became sick I had romantic notions of communing with God upon a bed of sickness. The reality has been rather more prosaic. I’ve just been completely out of it for most of the time. I’ve been overwhelmed by the kindness of the people I’m with who have cared for my every need, and I’ve certainly met God in them.

I’m hoping tomorrow to be well enough to do an activity I’ve planned for the girls here, and which I had intended to do last Saturday. I was asked to do something to help them with their English. I’ve prepared a treasure hunt with numbered clues in English and a bag of sweets at the end of it.

Today’s bit of derring-do: I encountered a cockroach in the bathroom in the middle of the night, so I took my courage in both hands and squished it. That was as far as my courage ran; I couldn’t quite bring myself to deal with the corpse. However, the next time I visited the loo, the late lamented creature was swarming with ants, so I had no choice but to grab some loo roll, scoop up the corpse, ants and all, and flush the lot down the pan.

Today’s bit of excitement: I was sitting on the edge of my bed with a drink in one hand and a banana in the other when a mouse suddenly ran out between my feet and made me nearly jump out of my skin. I hastily decamped to the living room to sit with my feet up on the sofa only to find that the little blighter had beaten me to it and was running past the end of the sofa with a grin on its face.

As for the lack of dog poo, the stray dogs may not leave evidence of any, but the kept ones do. The landlord thinks nothing of letting his leave piles outside our front door for everyone to step over when we leave or enter the apartment.

Tonight I’m watching a DVD with the girls – the story of William Carey in Hindi with English subtitles, a timely reminder to pray for my brother who flew somewhere over my head yesterday at the start of another trip with Carey Outreach Mission.

Leave a Reply

