India blog day 13

So bedtime came last night, and a new dilemma presented itself. Where was Moses the mouse? Was he in my room (in which case I should leave the door open to let him out)? Or was he in the living room (in which case I should shut my door to keep him from getting in)? In the end I shut the door, on the chance that if he was in my room my snoring would terrify him into keeping right away from me. The reality is he’s probably been here, unseen, all along, and I will probably not see him again, even though he’ll still be here.

This morning a miracle happened – I woke up hungry. I actually woke up very early and couldn’t get back to sleep, so I decided to be spiritual and got my Bible out to meditate on Psalm 62, but the next thing I knew I was waking up several hours later and hungry. So although my appetite is small, I’m back to eating normal food again. After feeling so very grim it’s wonderful to be feeling normal again, and makes me realise how much I take my health for granted.

I did my treasure hunt with the girls. After a couple of false starts while they grappled with the rules, they soon got the hang of it with much jostling and laughter, and found the hidden treasure, a packet of Werther’s Originals.

After this we all sat in a circle on the floor and played a riotous game in which a colourful scarf represented a thief and a grey scarf represented a policeman. Starting at opposite sides of the circle, but both moving clockwise, the scarves passed from person to person. If you received the thief scarf you had to put it on, tie two knots in it, untie it and pass it on. If you received the policeman scarf, you had to put it on, tie one knot in it, untie it and pass it on. As the “policeman” chased the “thief” around the circle, the gap gradually narrowed. If the policeman landed on you while you still had the thief, you were out, and the game went on without you. The shrieks of hilarity must have been heard halfway round the block.

Then the girls put on a dance for me, with genuine joy on their faces, and given their traumatic histories, it was a thrill beyond words because as I sat watching them, I was sitting opposite a wall hanging which bears the words, “You turned my wailing into dancing, you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy.” Truly these girls are living epistles. They are at various stages on their journey to God, but some can give very clear testimonies of how He has transformed their lives, and one writes beautiful worship songs.

After this I was sitting doing some work on my laptop and 3 of the girls, having secretly decided to give me a fashion show, appeared before me in their loveliest saris. They really did look beautiful. This was the point at which I discovered that for the cheap camera I picked up the day before I left home, I had brought the wrong batteries. So E took some pictures for me on her camera and is going to send them to me.

Leave a Reply

